Comparatives exercises

24 Авг

Practice

1. Fill in the missing adjectives in the proper degree. Analyze the adjectives used in the song.

long, green, big, handsome, large, beautiful, strong

A Bigger Heart

His arms are stronger than mine

His legs are … than mine

His car’s always cleaner

And his grass is always ….

But my heart is … than his

And my love for you is stronger than his.

He’s more …, much more elegant

More charming and more polite than me

He’s more responsible, much more dependable

He is everything I long to be. His office is … than mine His martinis are drier than mine His roses are much … And his faults are far fewer.

But my heart is … than his

And my love for you is … than his.

heavy                 strong              expensive         friendly

2.  Complete the sentences. Use the comparative of the adjec­tives in the brackets.

1.    Sorry I’m late. It took me (long) to get there than I ex­pected.

2.    She looks about 18, but in fact she is much (old) than she looks.

3.    This problem is not so complicated. It’s (simple) than you think.

4.    We always go camping when we go on holiday. It’s much (cheap) than staying in a hotel.

5.    It’s (easy) to learn a foreign language in the country where it’s spoken.

6.    Your English has improved. You speak (good) than you did when we last met.

7.    Health and happiness are (important) than money.

8.    I like the countryside. It’s (healthy) and (peaceful) than living in a city.

9.    My toothache is (painful) today than it was yesterday.

3. Complete the sentences with: a) the superlative form, b) one of the + superlative.

Model: It’s a very nice house.

a)    It’s the nicest house in our town.

b)   It’s one of the nicest houses in our town.

1.    He is a very dangerous criminal. He … in the country.

2.    The Mississippi is a long river. It’s … in the world.

3.    I have never heard such a funny story. That’s … I have heard.

4.    We’ve never made such a bad mistake. It’s ….

5.    They haven’t had to make such a difficult decision for years. It’s … .

6.    It was very bad experience. It was … in my life.

7.    He is a very good player. He … in the team.

8.    She is a very rich woman. She is … in the world.

4   Use: a)as … as, b) not so … as/not as…as.

Model: My grandfather is younger than he looks.

a)  My grandfather isn’t as old as he looks.

b)  My grandfather is not so old as he looks.

1.    The examination was more difficult than we ex­pected.

2.    The weather is warmer today than it was yesterday.

3.    The situation is still unpleasant but yesterday it was worse.

4.    I was a bit nervous before the interview but usually I’m a lot more nervous.

5.    The exhibition was less beautiful than we hoped to see.

6.    This book is less interesting than the one I read last week.

5. Fill the blank spaces with:    later or latter; father or further

nearest or next; older or elder oldest or eldest.

1.    This is the … bank to our house. Take a taxi to get there.

2.    The … railway station is two miles from here.

3.    He walked off without … ceremony.

4.    He is the … member of the School Committee.

5.    I prefer the … preposition to the former.

6.    Is there no … news than the last week’s?

7.    The nephew is … than his uncle.

8.    No … reasons were given.

9.    She is the … of the two sisters.

10.  … discussion will be useless.

11.  What is … theatre in London?

12.  How long does it take you to get to the … river?

6. Supply the proper degree of comparison.

1.    Trust the man who hesitates in his speech and is (quick) and (steady) in actions.

2.    The (little) men think the (much) they talk.

3.    Prevention is (good) than cure. The public is (good) judge.

4.    It is good to be clever, but it is (good) to be indus­trious.

5.    Some people have (much) money than brains.

6.    Australia is (large) island in the world.

7.    He would (soon) die than tell a lie.

8.    The Times is one of   (powerful) newspapers in England.

9.    «What is (good) film you’ve ever seen?» — «I’ve seen so many good films that I can’t say which one is (good)».

10.  We had a great holiday. It was one of (great) holi­days we have ever had.

7. Use the adjectives in the proper degree.

1.    Spring is a very busy time. It is (busy) time in the year.

2.    That was (boring) film I’ve ever seen.

3.    There wasn’t as (much) snow in the fields as in the forests.

4.    She is a really nice person — one of (nice) people I know.

5.    The (much) snow you have in winder, the (good) crop you have in summer.

6.    The weather in November is not so (cold) as in De­cember but it’s (cold) than in October.

7.    No park in London is as (popular) as Hyde Park.

8.    One of (famous) places of interest in London is St. Paul’s Cathedral.

9.    A tram is not so (quick) as a bus. It’s one of (slow) means of transport.

10.  The film is (interesting) than the book.

8. Complete the sentences using as … as, than or the … the and the proper degree of the following adverbs:

fast, long, soon, much, well, often, quietly, hard, far, little, many

1.    I’m sorry I’m a bit late. I got here … I could.

2.    We need the information quickly, so please let us know … possible.

3.    «How long can I stay with you?» — «You can stay … you like».

4.    It was a difficult question. I answered it … I could.

5.    She wants to keep fit, so she goes swimming … she can.

6.    I didn’t want to wake anybody, so I came in … I could.

7.    I don’t know much about the Roman period in the history of England. You know … me.

8.    You don’t work particularly hard. Most students work … and pass exams … you.

9.    I’m sure that you know much about cars but you know … my father. He’s been driving for thirty years already.

10.  The station was nearer than I thought. It wasn’t … they told me.

11.  I’m pleased that our firm works … it did last year. We produce twice … we did at the beginning of the year.

12.  I don’t earn … money as I’d like. My father earns about three times … I do.

13.  Can you send me the money … possible, please.

14.  There’s plenty of food. You can have … you like.

15.  We travelled …we expected. It didn’t take us … we thought to get there.

16.  … you start… you’ll be back.

Добавить комментарий

